ISLEY REUST : actress, musician, documentarian & transgender activist

Isley has her hands in just about everything. Google her. You’ll find enough articles to fill up your entire day with reading. She’s an actress, a musician, an up-and-coming documentarian, and a transgender activist. Her creative output is inspiring, but more than that she’s just an inspiring person. She’s out there in the world trying to make life a little easier for someone else.

01. What’s your typical morning routine? How do you get your day started?

My mornings tend to start different all the time but, there are a couple routines that are a must for me. I usually get up around 7am and have some tea. Tea is a must to start my day off right. Then I check my e-mails and depending from then on out my day can vary from working on music, to shooting a video, or brainstorming a project, traveling.

02. Can you just tell me a little about who you are? Where were you born? What did you want to do with your life when you were young?

My name is Isley Reust and I’m what I’d like to think of as a well rounded artist. A jack of all trades in a way. I was born in Whittier, California to a German immigrant mother. I’m first generation on her side. I spent my summers in Germany, Austria and France growing up, while going to high school in a small desert town in California.

When I was growing up I wanted to be a National Geographic photographer, play in a rock band and be a movie star. I’ve been in films, played in a rock band but yet to have had any work in National Geographic.

03. You’ve been involved with music for a while. What were your first bands like? Did you always want to be a singer?

I started playing piano at age 8 then picked up the bass at age 12 and guitar at 13. I played bass in my first band at age 12 and it was a Nirvana cover band. From the first time I picked up a guitar I was really into the classical techniques of playing and finger picking. To this day I incorporate that style into all of my songwriting. I didn’t always want to be a singer. Music and writing music was something that always inspired me more.

04. A simple Google search of you brings up an impressive list of press (New York Times, Huffington Post, Rookie Mag, etc.) What’s that been like for you? Has it been a positive experience?

It’s been great but it all came with a lot of responsibility that I don’t think I was ready for at first. I never really wanted to have any acknowledgment from helping others. It was just more of me giving back to those who were looking for the right path in life, or struggling. I’ve had more people than I can keep count of who have said I saved their life, and just knowing that is rewarding enough for me. But like I said the recognition that came with that was great but I didn’t at the time want it. I was just being the best version I could be of myself and living my authentic life. I was trying to lead by example to show that others can do that also and be happy.

Now in my life I can’t see myself not helping others. The world needs more positive influences to make a better change, and I’m happy that I’m one of those people now. It’s been the most rewarding thing ever.

05. Your band Spectacular Spectacular has been touring and you recently released an album. How’s that been for you? Any new developments with the band?

Yes, we have and it’s been absolutely amazing. We’ve recently been writing new material for another release due sometime next year.

06. Can you describe a moment when you finally felt happiness? What did that feel like?

I think it was around 2010, possibly late 2009, that I knew life was going to get better and that I was on the correct path. A path I wanted to be on and knew I would eventually be on. Each day gets better and the the happier I become. Life has a funny way of working out. I always knew from an early age that I would do and be where I am now in some aspects.

07. Are you working on anything new right now that you’re excited about?

I just spent some time in Quebec and Ontario Canada directing a documentary about a trans woman named Zoey. I also have a documentary I’m directing in October that I’m thrilled about. My band is working on new music, which is great, and I also hope to do some more acting when the right roles come around. I wrote music for an Emmy-nominated show last year which was so cool.

08. I’m really interested in the documentary you’re working on. Can you tell me a little more about how that came about and what the process has been like?

For a little over a year now I’ve been trying to develop a series which I can’t go too far into detail at the moment. I got the idea of creating a doc-series about the lives of normal everyday transgender individuals across the U.S and Canada. I wanted to share what they go through on a daily basis. Starting this project has been a real eye-opening experience. Some of these individuals go through so much hate, hardships and also beautiful moments everyday just to be their authentic selves.

I remember a couple weeks ago in Canada, as I was half-way through one of the episodes, I was laying in bed and just started crying for about 2 hours. This particular transgender woman deals with so much on a daily basis that it would make the strongest people crack. The confidence that she exudes was so inspiring. I’m filming a episode on a trans police officer this month and I’m really excited for that one as well.

09. What is currently inspiring you and in what way? (book, movie, song, podcast, anything really…)

As far as films go…Casey Neistat is pretty inspiring. Currently I’m just trying to make the best of my time and who I spend it with. When I was in Canada this last month shooting that documentary it was such an emotional and inspiring experience, and it’s something I will treasure and remember for the rest of my life.

Musically I’m inspired by my surroundings and life experiences. It’s really hard for me to force sincere music when I’m not feeling inspired.

10. How do you end a typical day? What do you do to unwind? 

I usually edit my videos or work on music until about 2am. Then I plan out my next day.

You can find Ms. Reust on the web:

Leave a Reply

